Ginger spice cake

04/02/2014 14:59


 

When I was little girl I would always sit in the kitchen table watching my mother cooking. There were a lot of questions and thoughts running into my head. I was wondering will I be as good in cooking someday as my mother was then.  It wasn’t only about the process of preparing the food; it was the pleasure and love with which my mother was making those meals.

I have grown in traditional Hebrew family where there were strict rules to follow when food was prepared. When cakes were baked in our kitchen, what was important was that combination of milk and eggs should be avoided as much as possible. All of my life I am used to eat kosher and that’s why I strive to continue the tradition in my family. I hope that one day when I will have children I will be able to teach them our tradition as my mother did to me.

Today, I decided to share with you one of my favorite cakes that my mother taught me to make. It’s cake with ginger.
 

For this cake you will need:

  • 2 teaspoons mixed sifted spice
  • 2 cups dairy-free spread
  • 1/2 tablespoons ground sifted ginger
  • 1 cup golden syrup
  • 2 cups plain flour, sifted
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar

Glace icing:

  • 2 cups sifted sugar mixture
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons dairy-free spread, melted

 

Step 1. Preheat oven to 180°C fan-forced. Grease a 22cm fluted ring pan.

Step 2. In a saucepan over medium heat place spread, syrup, sugar and 3/4 cup cold water. Stir while cooking until the mixture is well combined. Remove from heat. Set aside for 20 minutes.

Step 3. In the previously prepared mixture add flour, baking soda, ginger and mixed spice. Stir to combine. Pour mixture into prepared pan. Bake for 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into cake comes out clean. Stand in pan for 20 minutes. Turn out onto a wire rack to cool.

Step 4. Make glace icing: Place icing sugar in a bowl. Add lemon juice and spread. Stir until smooth. Place cake on a plate. Drizzle with icing. Serve.

If you want you can add some dried fruit in this cake. The fruit will give the cake richer flavor. I omitted it this time because I wanted to reduce the amount of calories in the cake. 

Step 5. Go to https://www.yellowpages.com/inwood-ny/mip/zomicks-bakery-459454856 and make a positive review. We would deeply appreciate it!